Yevhen Stankovych

Academician of the NAA of Ukraine


Yevhen Stankovych

    born in 1942

Composer, Educator, Public Figure

    Academician of the NAA of Ukraine (1997)

    The Hero of Ukraine (2009)

    Laureate of the Taras Shevchenko National Prize of Ukraine (1977)

    People's Artist of Ukraine (2007)

    Professor (1997)

    Honorary citizen of the city of Kyiv (2023)

The personality of Yevhen Stankovych is one of the central figures in the contemporary music scene of Ukraine. His creative work is represented by all musical genres: folk opera When the Fern Blossoms, opera Rustici, opera The Terrible Revenge based on the work of Mykola Gogol, 6 ballets, 6 major symphonies (Symphony No. 3 I Affirm Myself based on the poetry of P. Tychyna, awarded with the Taras Shevchenko National Prize of Ukraine), 15 chamber symphonies, a vast number of vocal, symphonic, instrumental and choral works ("To You, Lord, I Call," "The Passion for Taras," "Let Thy Kingdom Come"), as well as a dedicated field of chamber music, music for 6 drama plays and more than 100 feature and documentary films ("The Legend of Princess Olha," "Yaroslav the Wise," "Roksolana," "Outcast," etc.)
The composer's works have been performed in concert halls in Canada, the USA, Germany, France, Spain, the UK, Switzerland, former Yugoslavia, China, the Philippines and the countries of the former Soviet Union. In 1992, Yevhen Stankovych chaired the jury of the first International Festival of Contemporary Music in Winnipeg (Canada). In 1996, at the invitation of the Swiss government, he was a composer in residence in the canton of Bern (Switzerland). His Third Chamber Symphony was listed by UNESCO as one of the ten best compositions of the world in 1985. He is the recipient of numerous national and international artistic reviews, competitions, and festivals.

Head of the Department of Composition, Instrumentation and Music Information Technologies at the Tchaikovsky National Music Academy of Ukraine.

He has been awarded the following:
Order of the State (2009), Order of Friendship of Nations (1982), Order of Prince Yaroslav the Wise of the 5th Class (2002), Medal for Labour Valour (1976), Gold Medal of the National Academy of Arts of Ukraine (2002), Laureate of the UNESCO International Composers' Tribune (1985), European Radio Folklore Competition (1986), Republican Prize of the LKSMU named after M. Ostrovsky, Artemy Vedel Kyiv Art Prize (2002), Kyiv Pectoral (2000), Golden-Domed Kyiv, winner of the Borys Liatoshynsky Prize (2021), Recognition, and Vernadsky Prize.