Serhiy Trymbach

Corresponding Member of the NAA of Ukraine


Serhiy Trymbach

    born in 1950

Screenwriter, Critic, Cinema Historian, Educator, Public Figure

    Corresponding Member of the NAA of Ukraine (2017)

    Laureate of the Oleksandr Dovzhenko State Prize (2008)

    Honoured Art Worker of Ukraine (2013)

Serhiy Trymbach has been researching Dovzhenko's creative work for over 20 years. He is the compiler, author of introductory articles and notes to several annotated catalogues and publications, including: "Oleksandr Dovzhenko. Films. Drawings. Concepts" (1994), "Cinema and Video Films of Ukraine. 1996-1998. Annotated Catalogue" (2000), "Ukrainian Feature Films of the 1990s" (CD album, 2001, Project Manager), "Ivan Mykolaychuk. Biography. Filmography. Memoirs. Reflections on cinema. Scripts. Bibliography" (compiler and author, 2002), "Dovzhenko and the Cinema of the 20th Century" (one of the compilers and authors, 2004), Compiler and author of comments and notes in Ivan Drach's book "A Well for the Thirsty" (2010). He is the author of the monograph "Oleksandr Dovzhenko. The Demise of the Gods (2007, Oleksandr Dovzhenko State Prize). Editor and author of articles for the publication of the full text of O. Dovzhenko's diaries (2013). He is the compiler (co-author) of the book "Dovzhenko Without Makeup" (2014). He is a scientific editor and author of the chapter of the 2nd volume of the History of Ukrainian Cinema. 1930-1945" (2016), author of the book "Cinema Born in Ukraine. An Illustrated History" (2016). Author of 15 scripts for films about cultural and artistic figures (including two in co-authorship).
Trymbach combines his creative work with teaching. Since 1980, he has been teaching at art universities, since 2015 - at the Institute of Journalism of the Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv. Since 2016 - Deputy Chairman of the Taras Shevchenko State Prizes Committee of Ukraine. 2009-2017 - Chairman of the Oleksandr Dovzhenko State Prize Committee. Deputy Chairman of the National Union of Cinematographers of Ukraine. Since 1994, he has been the head of the Association of Film Critics of the Ukrainian Association of Cinematographers. Member of FIPRESCI.