Musical Art Department

About the Department

The Department of Musical Arts includes 13 members: 6 academicians and 7 corresponding members.
The department's activities are aimed at preserving the best achievements of the national musical heritage, training highly qualified specialists, popularising Ukrainian musical culture, and fostering the music education and music professional movement in Ukraine.

  • Read more

    The Department of Musical Art was established in July 1997. The Academic Secretary of the department is academician P. Chupryna. 
    Full members (academicians) of the Department - M.Vantukh, Hero of Ukraine (2004); I.Pylatyuk, V.Rozhok, Y.Savchuk, Hero of Ukraine (2009), Y.Stankovych, Hero of Ukraine (2009), P.Chupryna; corresponding members - A.Havrylets, I.-J. Hamkalo, L.Dychko, Zh.Kolodub, V.Sirenko, O.Skrypnyk, I.Shcherbakov. The Department's Academic Secretary is R. Stankovych-Spolska, PhD Candidate in Art History.
    The Department pursues to establish scientific and creative ties with higher education institutions in Kyiv, Donetsk, Lviv, Odesa, Kharkiv and other cities of Ukraine, publishers, newspapers, magazines, national creative unions, theatres and concert venues of Ukraine.
    All the higher music education institutions under the Department's supervision are centres of music education and science in Ukraine. One of the Department's priorities is to ensure the humanisation of music education, fostering a highly professional future musical prominent figures of Ukraine, developing the aesthetic culture of young students, and shaping their professionalism, national identity and respect for national and world cultural traditions.
    Members of the Music Department are proactive founders and participants in many international and national scientific and artistic projects and events, including international art projects such as "New Music in Ukraine" (2008-2009 season), the International Children's Festival "Artek Dawns", the International Festival of Contemporary Music "Music Premieres of the Season", the well-known International Festivals "Kyiv Music Fest", the International Competition of Pianists named after E.Gilels, the International music festivals "Kharkiv Assemblies", "Contrasts" in Lviv city and many others.
    The members of the Department work diligently in the field of music and pedagogy, supervise the scientific work of students, postgraduates and doctoral students, and are regular participants in international scientific conferences, seminars and round tables on music and pedagogical creativity research. The Department of Musical Art of the NAA of Ukraine is a unique epicentre of the country's cultural life, where the most powerful artistic forces are concentrated. 
    The creativity of the Department's members is at the forefront of global scientific and artistic expression, and we owe the high artistic level of our culture to them. Representing the eminence of Ukrainian society, the artists achieve the highest results and sincere recognition through their work.


Academic Secretary: P. Chupryna Deputy Academic Secretary: Y. Savchuk Department Office (Bureau): P. Chupryna, Ye. Savchuk, L. Dychko, D. Ostapenko Scientific Secretary: R. Stankovych-Spolska
Telephone: 486-37-41 



Petro Chupryna

Academic Secretary and Head of the Department's Bureau

Musician, specialising in contemporary opera and ballet, stage and theatre manager and organiser. Academician of the NAA of Ukraine (2013), People's Artist of Ukraine, PhD Candidate in Art History


Yevhen Savchuk

Deputy Academic Secretary and Member of the Department's Bureau

Choirmaster, educator, and public figure. Academician of the NAA of Ukraine (2004), Hero of Ukraine, laureate of the Taras Shevchenko National Prize of Ukraine, People's Artist of Ukraine, Professor


Liudmyla (Lesia) Dychko

Member of the Department's Bureau

Composer, educator, and public figure. Corresponding member of the NAA of Ukraine (2009), laureate of the Taras Shevchenko National Prize of Ukraine, People's Artist of Ukraine, Professor


Dmytro Ostapenko

Member of the Department's Bureau

Musician, cultural activist, and Specialist in contemporary music. Corresponding Member of the NAA of Ukraine (2021), People's Artist of Ukraine, Professor